Lemon Ricotta Cheesecake

A few weeks back Frugal Feeding posted a rock cake recipe, which sounds really good. I have not made rock cakes for years. Last time I made them was when I was still working as a cook at the daycare center. Anyway, I told him I will steal his recipe and make some for the boys. That was until he recently posted this luscious looking lemon ricotta cheesecake. So really … rock cakes? cheesecake? Hmm … I still have the common cold and I heard lemon is good so hey, I went for the lemon ricotta cheesecake. I know, lame excuse. 🙂

Creamy smooth!

Except for the amount of ricotta cheese, I followed everything in his recipe. The ricotta was an exception only because I did not realize until I came home that I only have 300g instead of 500g. I ended up having same measure of ricotta and cream cheese, which I think worked out fine. It was still creamy and smooth and that hint of lemon flavor really was delightful.

Lemon Ricotta Cheesecake

Makes one 9 inch cheesecake

Ingredients:

• 200g crushed digestive biscuits

• 6 tbsp melted butter

• 60g granulated or caster sugar

• 300g ricotta cheese

• 300g cream cheese

• 3 eggs

• 1 lemon, zest and juice

• 150g gold caster sugar

Method:

1.   Preheat oven to 180C degrees. Mix the biscuits with melted butter and press into the bottom of springform pan.

2.   Beat together cream cheese, ricotta cheese, lemon juice and lemon zest. Beat in sugar. Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition.

3.   Pour mixture into prepared pan. Wrap the bottom of the pan tightly with foil. Bake in a bain-marie for an hour. Cheesecake is ready when the center wobbles when shaken.

Boy, was I glad when there was no crack on top as Frugal Feeding said, there shouldn't be any crack at all! 🙂 I'm just wondering why there are tiny bubbles on top.

4.   Remove from the oven and leave in pan to cool. Remove from springform pan when cool. Keep in the refrigerator until chilled.

Definitely best after it has been kept in the fridge.

This entry was published on March 1, 2012 at 4:05 pm. It’s filed under baking, desserts, food, recipes, Sweet treats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Lemon Ricotta Cheesecake

  1. Looks yummy! Did it cure your cold? Btw, what is a rock cake?

  2. Very nice. I really like to use Ricotta in cheesecake and pancakes.

  3. Pingback: Lemon Drop Heaven | Her Topic

Leave a comment