Baked Orange Cheesecake

 

So, how do you like your cheesecake? Baked or unbaked? My love affair with cheesecakes started with an unbaked blueberry cheesecake. Loved it and cheesecake since then, has become one of my two most favourite desserts. The past couple of years though, I have discovered the joy of baking cheesecakes. I have a favourite one, the baked caramel cheesecake, which to my surprise I have not actually posted the recipe yet on here. I promise to do that very soon but for now, I think this recipe is worth sharing.  This baked orange cheesecake was made with cream cheese and ricotta with a hint of orange flavour from fresh orange juice and grated zest. Best chilled overnight and served the next day when flavours have developed.Ingedients

  • 200g plain biscuits
  • 125g butter, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 250g cream cheese
  • 250g ricotta cheese
  • 1 tablespoon orange rind, finely grated
  • 2 tablespoons fresh orange juice

Method

1.   Preheat oven to 180C degrees.

2.   Line base of 20cm round springform tin with foil, grease base and side.

3.   Process biscuits until crushed finely; add butter; process until just combined. Press biscuit mixture evenly over base and side of prepared tin, leaving 2cm border. Cover; refrigerate for 1 hour.4.   Beat eggs and sugar in medium bowl with electric mixer until thick and creamy; add cheeses, rind and juice, beat cheese mixture until smooth.

5.   Place springform tin on oven tray; pour cheese mixture into tin.6.   Bake in moderate oven about 1 hour or until firm. Cool in oven with door ajar.7.   Cover cheesecake; refrigerate 3 hours or overnight. Serve with orange segments, if desired.Recipe from Women’s Weekly Cookbook

 

This entry was published on September 24, 2012 at 5:09 pm. It’s filed under baking, cooking, desserts, food, recipes, Sweet treats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Baked Orange Cheesecake

  1. Wow… Are you kidding me, Lol… My bdays in 3 days and I Loveeee Cheese Cake, Lol

    DJ-

  2. Oh yum. I adore cheesecake, but have never had an orange cheesecake… I want 😀

    • 🙂 Truth be known, this was inspired by your lemon ricotta cheesecake post. Remember I tried that and liked it. So, when I saw this recipe, I knew it will be a good one … ricotta-based but orange instead of lemon 😀

  3. Pingback: roses and cheesecake « my sweetpainteddreams

Leave a Reply

