Veggie Burger With Lots Of Potential

 

For those of us who like experimenting when it comes to food or trying a recipe we saw somewhere, cooking is a hit-or-miss experience. Sometimes the recipe turns out just how we imagine it will taste like and sometimes not. One thing I promised myself when I started this food blog is be honest with my readers. If I liked the food, you will know it. If I loved the food, you will absolutely know about it because chances are, I will keep raving about it. If I didn’t like it, you will not see the recipe on my blog because I will not  endorse it.

A week ago, I had bought too much mushrooms and decided I will give veggie burger a go. As always, I flipped through the pages of my favourite cookbooks, searched my favourite online food pages until I came across this tasty looking and sounding veggie burger recipe and made them.With those lovely colours and crisp looking patty, it does look appetising enough, right? I was having second thoughts about posting this. The reason being the boys, hubby and son, did not exactly enjoy this. We are meat-loving burger people and even love seafood base burger. The only vegetarian burger we’ve had and absolutely enjoyed were those mushroom burgers back in the Philippines.

I will be honest. This was a bit too “veggie” tasting for me. I read the reviews for this recipe and everyone was saying how tasty this burger was.  We did not get that tasty experience. Or maybe, I did not add enough seasoning to the mixture. Again I will be honest.  I think this burger has lots of potential to be a really tasty and enjoyable meal. I was thinking next time I make this ( and I will just to give this another chance), I will add a bit more salt and pepper, maybe add a tablespoon of grated parmesan cheese or maybe even some freshly chopped herbs. When I was still working as a daycare centre cook, I used fresh or dried herbs a lot as seasoning substitute for salt since cooks are not allowed to add salt to children’s food at the centre. I was also thinking since we are not vegetarians in the family, I could add salmon flakes or tuna to the mixture for added flavour.

Anyway, here is the recipe and see for yourself. If you have tried it, let me know what you think or what you have done to make it a bit more interesting.Ingredients (Serves 6)

  • 500g coliban potatoes, peeled, quartered
  • 1/2 cup frozen baby peas
  • 2 medium carrots, peeled, finely grated
  • 100g button mushrooms, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup plain flour
  • 3/4 cup seasoned stuffing mix
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 6 burger buns, halved
  • lettuce leaves
  • 2 medium tomatoes, sliced
  • 6 slices tasty cheese
  • Chutney (tomato or onion), to serve

Method

  1. Cook potatoes in a saucepan of boiling, salted water for 8 minutes. Add peas. Boil for 2 minutes or until potatoes are tender. Drain. Remove to a bowl. Mash well. Add carrots, mushrooms and flour. Season with salt and pepper. Stir to combine.
  2. Using your hands, shape potato mixture into 6 patties. Place stuffing mix on a plate. Coat patties in stuffing mix.
  3. Heat oil in a frying pan over medium heat. Cook patties, in batches, for 2 minutes each side or until golden and heated through. Drain on paper towel.
  4. Top bun bases with lettuce, tomato, patties, cheese, chutney and bun tops. Serve.

Recipe from Taste.com.au

 

This entry was published on September 15, 2012 at 12:06 pm. It’s filed under cooking, family bonding, food, Quick Meals, recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Veggie Burger With Lots Of Potential

  1. This looks delicious!

  2. Pingback: Veggie Burger With Lots Of Potential « Food Safari: Vege Bun ~ Vege Food on Vege Bun, Vegetarian Bun, Veggie Bun, Vegan Bun, Vege Life Products, Vege Baking Buns, Vege Pastry Buns

  3. globaldruginfo on said:

    Looks yummy yummy 🙂

  4. I remember the Vege Burger days… There was a while when I didn’t eat beef that I used to eat them.

    DJ-

Leave a Reply

