Caramelised Pork Chops

 

So, my on and off cooking affair with pork continues. A few months back, I shared how pork is the least type of meat I sort of experiment with. Not that I didn’t like it but I find pork not as exciting as poultry or red meat. Or it maybe because I have eaten too many serves of pork  dish as a girl. In my native country, almost everyone loves lechon or that whole pig roasted over charcoal. It is the national dish of the Philippines (I think, unless they have changed it to something else), served during holiday festivals, fiestas and just about any big celebrations. I liked it but it is not something I would grab first off the table feast. And of course the pork adobo, which I have pretty much given up as far as cooking it is concerned. I don’t know but every time I cook the dish, it tasted different each time! My son actually told me to stop cooking it and just stick to the other dishes I cook well. That’s what I like about him most as my food critique, he is brutally honest, which I appreciate really. Saves me the time and effort preparing and cooking something I knew he wouldn’t like. 😀 I still cook pork though now and then but limited to barbecue or grilled chops. I was looking for new recipes to try and came across this simple and easy caramelised pork chops recipe.Very simple but interesting, I thought it was a good dish and we actually enjoyed it. Ingredients (Serves 3)

  • 6 (about 100g each) pork chops
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 golden delicious apples, cored, cut into wedges
  • 250g truss cherry tomatoes
  • 100g baby salad leaves
  •  balsamic dressing

Method

1.   Place pork in a glass or ceramic dish. Rub both sides of pork with sugar. 2.   Heat oil in a large, non-stick frying pan over medium-high heat. Cook pork for 1 minute each side or until golden and caramelised. Reduce heat to medium. Cook for 3-4 minutes each side or until cooked through. Transfer pork to a plate. Cover. Set aside for 5 minutes to rest.3.   Meanwhile, add apple and tomatoes to pan. Cook, turning apples, for 5 minutes or until tender.

4.   Place salad leaves in a bowl. Drizzle with balsamic dressing. Toss to combine. Place pork on plates. Top with apple, tomatoes and salad leaves. Serve.

I am pretty sure my son liked this dish coz he didn’t tell me “not to cook it again.” 😀

Recipe from taste.com.au

 

This entry was published on August 20, 2012 at 4:35 pm. It’s filed under cooking, family bonding, food, Quick Meals, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Caramelised Pork Chops

  1. Oh yes, definitely… More Please, Lol

    DJ-

Leave a Reply

