Blueberry Pancakes With Blueberry Sauce

Last weekend’s weather was rainy, windy and chilly. It was very stormy that you wouldn’t wanna go anywhere really but stay indoors and try to be as comfortable as you can. I am very outdoorsy but truth be known, I embraced last weekend’s stormy weather and made the best out of it indoors … in my kitchen to be specific and baked lots of treats over that short period. The apple galette, cupcakes we brought to a family get-together, the Mexican chocolate cream pie and these stacks of blueberry pancakes, which I had for brunch and dinner last Saturday. I know … pancakes for dinner … well, that’s me … I love pancakes!And did I mention I love blueberries as well? These pancakes are delightful served with blueberry sauce and a tiny dollop of whipped cream if you want.These were made with 98% fat-free buttermilk. Yes, buttermilk. I know some people who dislike the taste of buttermilk but really, it’s not as if you would drink it like you would a regular or skim milk, but using it for baking actually makes the batter mix lighter and fluffy. As I have mentioned in my earlier post where I used buttermilk for making the blueberry cupcakes, when mixed with either self-raising flour or baking soda, it creates aeration resulting in light and fluffy cakes. My friend said she would like to try this recipe so thought I’d share this with fellow pancake lovers. I forgot to tell my friend that she did not have to wait for this post but she can buy the Dairy Farm’s buttermilk brand because that was where I got the recipe from – the milk carton.

Ingredients

  • 1-1/2 cups self-raising flour
  • 375 ml buttermilk
  • 2 tablespoons caster sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen

For the blueberry sauce

  • 400g tin blueberries in syrup
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch

Method

1.   Sift flour in a bowl. Add rest of the ingredients except for blueberries. Mix with a wooden spoon until batter is smooth. Gently fold in blueberries.

2.  Pour 1/4 cup batter mix onto an oiled and medium hot pan. 3.   Cook for 2-3 minutes or until bubbles appear on top and along the edges. Turn pancake and cook for a further minute or two. Repeat with remaining batter.4.   To make the blueberry sauce, empty can of blueberry in a saucepan; over medium heat, bring to a boil. Add cornstarch (diluted in water) to the blueberries, lower hear and simmer until sauce thickens while stirring constantly.5.   Stack pancakes on a plate and serve with the blueberry sauce and whipped cream on top.Perfect for breakfast, brunch or if you’re like me, I have no problem having pancakes for dinner.

This entry was published on August 17, 2012 at 5:22 pm. It’s filed under baking, cooking, desserts, family bonding, food, Quick Desserts, Quick Meals, recipes, Sweet treats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Blueberry Pancakes With Blueberry Sauce

  1. This looks really really REALLY good! Just had my lunch but this would have been a perfect ending 😀

  2. I love eating pancakes, stacked. And when you get to the middle– that’s the absolute best part! Reconsidering dinner plans tonight…

  3. Woooooooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwww!! Lol

    DJ-

Leave a Reply

