Lemon-Blueberry Muffins

Before Tiramisu, it was blueberry cheesecake as my ultimate favourite dessert. I still love blueberry cheesecake. Actually, I love anything with blueberries. Pancakes, ice cream, cookies, muffins … anything blueberry!  I have made many times one of my fave treats, the blueberry-chocolate muffins. For something different, I baked these light and fluffy lemon-blueberry muffins a few days ago and they were a hit.Buttermilk makes this muffin light. I have heard of some people not liking buttermilk because of its taste. I like using buttermilk when baking some treats for one good reason. When you add buttermilk with either self-raising flour or baking soda, it creates aeration resulting in great tasting, light and fluffy cakes.  I liked how light these muffins and and really good with that sour-sweet lemon glace and the hint of nutmeg. And of course, I was excited using my new square muffin pan!Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 1/4 cups low-fat buttermilk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tablespoon grated lemon rind
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • Cooking spray
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar

Method

1.   Preheat oven to 200°C.

2.   Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour and next 5 ingredients (flour through nutmeg) in a medium bowl; cut in butter with a pastry blender or 2 knives until mixture resembles a coarse meal.3.   Combine buttermilk, egg, and rind; stir well with a whisk. Add to flour mixture; stir just until moist. Gently fold in blueberries.I used frozen blueberries. When using frozen ones, do not thaw them but add them frozen to the batter mix, and gently fold them. Obviously, I wasn’t gentle enough folding them through as you can see from those blueberry streaks. It would not affect the taste or texture but you would want a nice-looking muffin so don’t do what I did! 🙂

4.   Spoon batter into 12 muffin cups coated with cooking spray. 5.   Bake at 200°C for 20 minutes or until the muffins spring back when lightly touched.6.   Remove muffins from pans immediately, and place on a wire rack to cool.7.   Combine lemon juice and powdered sugar in a small bowl. Drizzle glace evenly over cooled muffins.These muffins are good for any time of the day and best served warm. You can make them a couple of days ahead and glace them just before serving.

Recipe from MyRecipes.com

This entry was published on August 8, 2012 at 7:43 pm. It’s filed under bakeware, baking, cooking, desserts, family bonding, food, KITCHEN GADGETS, recipes, Sweet treats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “Lemon-Blueberry Muffins

  1. I have a rumbling stomach over here– lemon and blueberry pair SO well together. Well done!

    • Thanks! I just recently got into the blueberry-lemon flavour combo. Loved it when I made the lemon-blueberry cookies so I knew this muffin would taste good when I saw the recipe.

  2. there are lemon-blueberry cookies too?? Yum!

  3. Wow, just Awesome

    DJ-

  4. Lemon and blueberries are a lovely marriage. I’m starting to see the small wild Maine blueberries at the farm stands now and this would be a perfect way to use them.

    • Yes! I’m glad I tried the lemon-blueberry cookies, which started my liking for this flavour combo. I should live next to your farm, Karen! 😀

  5. Pingback: Blueberry Pancakes « Food Safari

Leave a Reply

