Tuscan Kale Salad and Some Bad-Ass Braised Beef Short Ribs

 

I am really excited about this post for two reasons. One, I made this really beautiful raw kale salad and the other reason, those beef short ribs finally made it to our dining table.

Let me talk about the kale first. I was introduced to this lovely and healthy vegetable by fellow blogger Nick of Frugal Feeding. He posted his recipe for chorizo and kale broth almost four months ago. I tried and loved it to the point that he said I probably have cooked it more than he did. I think I did because I have cooked it several times. You really must try it. Simple with just two main ingredients, you’ll be enjoying a very tasty soup in just 10 minutes! I have loved kale since then. Interestingly enough, it’s not readily available and I can only get it from one Italian providore. So, really every time I make kale dish, I make it worth my trip to that market, making special meal out of it like this simple Tuscan raw kale salad.

A couple of nights ago, I finally cooked those really really good short ribs recipe from fellow blogger Sybarite Sauvage. It took me two months to get some really nice beef short ribs from the local butcher. Here’s the thing … American beef short ribs are not exactly popular cut and readily available around here. Or maybe I live in the wrong city. I have approached three butchers around where I live before I finally found the right shop. Imagine my excitement! And I am telling you, as Sybarite Sauvage said, this recipe is worth … very much worth the effort and long wait. Man, they were absolutely mouth-watering fantastic!Marinated overnight, taken out of the fridge an hour before cooking, braising them for three hours then browning the meat in the oven for another 15 minutes, I was exhausted by the time dinner was served. Exhausted with torture while smelling the aroma coming from the kitchen while braising these ribs. My son came home from school and his first question was…”What’s cooking??? When’s dinner???Very happy with this dish really. Very much worth the looong wait so keep moving and click on this link for the recipe.

Bad Ass Braised Beef Short Ribs

I served these short ribs with a simple Tuscan kale salad. Ingredients

1 bunch Tuscan kale
2 thin slices country bread, or two handfuls good, homemade coarse breadcrumbs

1/2 garlic clove

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt, plus a pinch

1/4 cup (or small handful) grated pecorino cheese, plus adiitional for garnish

3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, plus additional for garnish

Freshly squeezed juice of one lemon (scant 1/4 cup or ~50ml)

1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes
Freshly ground black pepper to taste

Method:

1.   Trim and discard a few inches of kale stems. Slice or tear kale leaves. Place in a large bowl.2.   Toast bread slices until golden brown on both sides and dry throughout. Tear into small pieces and pulse in a food processor until the mixture forms coarse crumbs, or crumbs to your liking.

3.   Using a mortar and pestle or a knife, pound or mince the garlic and 1/4 teaspoon of salt into a paste. Transfer the garlic to a small bowl. Add 1/4 cup cheese, 3 tablespoons oil, lemon juice, pinch of salt, pepper flakes, and black pepper and whisk to combine.4.   Pour the dressing over the kale and toss very well.  Let the salad sit for 5 minutes, then serve topped with the bread crumbs, additional cheese, and a drizzle of oil.Recipe from 101.cookbooks.com

 

This entry was published on July 19, 2012 at 6:19 pm. It’s filed under cooking, family bonding, food, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

12 thoughts on “Tuscan Kale Salad and Some Bad-Ass Braised Beef Short Ribs

  1. Aw, shucks! Thanks for the shout out!

    • Razel on said:

      You’re welcome. Thank you heaps for that recipe. Absolutely enjoyable!

      • Looks delicious– looking forward to the cold weather so I can make these again to infuse the house with this incredible perfume.

        But what Oz wine did you have with this?

      • Razel on said:

        Delicious indeed. I think they will be good even the summer 🙂 I have this special port and wine I bought from this wine region in the state where I live though it’s funny coz the port I got from them was from South Australia. I thought about you when using the wine/port…wondering if you will approve of my choice! lol! http://www.tyrrells.com.au/

      • Dow’s Ports I always approve of. But I have never had any of Tyrell’s wines, though I also approve of their single vineyard designate approach. Must find some.

        Hope you had the Shiraz-Cab blend…

      • Razel on said:

        Dow’s Port…I’ll keep that in mind.
        Well, no not the Shiraz-Cab blend…and I’ll take it that that’s the one you would have used among the range of Tyrell’s. Now I’m learning ….next time 🙂

      • so which one did you choose?

      • Razel on said:

        The Pinot …only because it was recommended by the shopkeeper and me, being a non-red-wine drinker, just took his word for it. But now that you mentioned the shiraz-cab blend, it sounded more appealing.

      • depending on the style of the pinot, it would be fine, but personally, for this meal, a heartier red wine like a Cab or the aforementioned blend would be preferable. Though I’m sure it was still delicious!

        Great photos, BTW!

        I am so glad you finally got the “American” style ribs, as you call them.

      • Razel on said:

        Thanks! I’ll keep that in mind and use the Cab coz I will be definitely making this dish again..and again …
        Yup…and I know where to get the “American” ribs now 🙂

  2. Wow that looks Awesome

    DJ-

Leave a Reply

