Comfort For A Chilly Day

It’s the middle of winter in Australia. For some reason, I feel this year’s chills more than I did the earlier years. It is a good thing that there is a two-week winter school break. One more week for me to just chill (literally, I guess) and enjoy the fact that there is one less person using the bathroom in the morning, my son. I have indeed a teen-ager at home. No school for him so he stays up late and wakes up later than usual. Works for me, especially in the morning when everybody gets ready for work and school at the same time.

So, what’s your comfort food? Does everybody have one? I know some say chocolate, or ice cream or like my son, his is chocolate pudding. Mine? Toasts. Any kind of toast, any time of the day. Toast with just butter, or jam and peanut butter toast, raisin toasts…etc, etc. It is a chilly Saturday morning today so I thought why not make something really nice – cinnamon french toasts. The very versatile French toast. I like mine made with thick slices of bread, like brioche or French sticks. But of course any bread of your choice will do.1.   Whisk in a jug the following ingredients.

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup cream
  • icing sugar
  • cinnamon powder
  • butter
I did not give amount of cinnamon and sugar because I believe it is a personal taste. I used a tablespoon of icing sugar and a teaspoon of cinnamon for this recipe but as I have said, you may add more or less.

2.   Pour the mixture in a flat shallow tray. Dip the bread slices. Let them soak the mixture really well.

3.   Melt butter over medium heat. Add toasts and cook according to your liking.

4.   Serve toasts with berries of your choice. Dust with icing sugar on top if desired.

And that was truly delicious and a sure pick-me-up early treat.

This entry was published on July 7, 2012 at 9:42 am. It’s filed under cooking, desserts, family bonding, food, Quick Meals, recipes, Sweet treats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Comfort For A Chilly Day

  1. asterisk * photography on said:

    Comfort food? Used to be anything sweet. Now it’s anything NOT sweet! Kim*

    http://www.100days100ways.wordpress.com

  2. Wowwww, Lol

    You make me want to own an Awesome Kitchen, to start maken some of this stuff

    DJ-

Leave a Reply

