Grilled Black Tip Shark With Fennel And Apple Salad

I was planning a fish and chips dinner a couple of nights ago. With a holiday hangover still  from my Tasmanian holiday, I was craving for something like the fish and chips I had while down there. So, off I went to the fish shop looking for some basa fillets (the recipe I have uses basa). “Sorry but we don’t have them today” was what the shop assistant told me. Then he recommended the black tip shark fillets instead. I have never cooked nor seen them before honestly. Apparently, they are better to use for fish and chips. I took his word for it and bought enough to serve my family of three. When I got home, I got curious and searched for black tip shark recipes. I was thinking there must be other interesting ways I could do with this exotic sounding fish steaks other than fish and chips. Don’t get me wrong. I love fish and chips, which was what I was thinking of cooking for dinner that night in the first place. But looking at those fresh shark steaks, there is no way I will just dredge these babies in flour then deep-fry. I wanted something with a bit more excitement as far as flavours are concerned.

I found this recipe online. Black tip shark marinated overnight with fresh chopped parsley, garlic, olive oil and thyme. Grilled then topped with a special herb and tabasco-flavoured butter. And to serve on the side, a beautiful crunchy fennel and apple salad.  I thought that’s far more interesting than fish and chips, don’t you think?

Grilled black tip shark with tabasco butter served on a bed of grilled tomatoes.

Fennel and apple salad.

Ingredients

(Serves 3)

  • 3 black tip shark steaks, about 200g each
  • 1 tomato
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 tablespoons garlic
  • Small bunch chopped parsley
  • 1 tablespoon diced shallots
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 cup olive oil
  • Tabasco sauce to taste
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Method

1.   Marinate steaks in olive oil, garlic, shallots, parsley and thyme mixture for 2-24 hours.2.   Grill shark 4-6 minutes each side, or until done.3.   Slice tomato, dip into marinade and grill.

4.   Mix butter,salt, pepper and Tabasco. Instead of parsley as suggested in the recipe I found, I used the fennel fronds to mix in the butter.
5.   Plate shark loins on top of tomato slices and top with butter mixture.
Fennel and Apple Salad

To make salad: place fennel and apple in a large bowl. Mix together the rest of the ingredients. Add to salad. Gently toss to combine.

Top tip : If you have a mandolin slicer, use it to shave fennel and apple for really thin slices. Otherwise, use a sharp knife to slice thinly. Personally, I like the slices not too thin for more crunch and texture.Such a beautiful dish, I would absolutely recommend this. The fennel and apple salad was really aromatic with beautiful flavours and texture. Will be definitely making this combination again.

Recipe adapted from All-fish-seafood-recipes.com

This entry was published on July 4, 2012 at 11:35 pm. It’s filed under cooking, family bonding, food, recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Grilled Black Tip Shark With Fennel And Apple Salad

  1. Love Shark, haven’t had it in a while

    Looks Great

    Happy 4th Raz

    DJ-

  2. Pingback: Western Main Course + Soup + Drink

Leave a Reply

