Delicious Apple Cake – Really!

For those who have been following my blog for some time, you’d pick up by now that I don’t bake a lot of cakes and apple is not really a fruit I use for my baking and cooking. So, you can tell just by this post title that I really loved this apple cake recipe I tried a few days ago. It wasn’t even my plan to bake one but I have so many apples I bought from the shop (still have a bag) that I thought, hmm, why not do an apple dish? I grabbed my mobile phone and used my favourite food application (mytaste.com.au), searched for a recipe which uses apple and as expected, quite a number of recipes came up. How did I choose which one to try? I read the reviews and feedback from those who have tried this apple cake recipe.True to what they said about this cake, it was truly delicious! The cake was moist and I liked that the cake mix, though it was just a plain mix was not at all boring. The apricot glaze gave just the right amount of sweetness to it.Ingredients

(Serves 8)

  • 125g butter, chopped
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup self-raising flour
  • 1/2 cup plain flour
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 small royal gala apples
  • 1/4 cup apricot jam
  • Double cream, to serve

Method

1.   Preheat oven to 180°C/160°C fan-forced. Grease a 6cm-deep, 20cm (base) round springform pan. Line base with baking paper. Place butter, sugar and vanilla in a bowl. Using an electric mixer, beat for 5 to 6 minutes or until light and creamy. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating after each addition.

2.   Sift flours over butter mixture. Add milk. Fold until just combined. Spoon into prepared pan.3.   Core and quarter apples. Thinly slice. Arrange apples in circles on batter, pressing down gently.4.   Bake for 35 to 40 minutes or until a skewer inserted in the centre comes out clean. Stand in pan for 10 minutes. Remove side from pan. Slide cake onto a wire rack to cool.5.   Place jam in a microwave-safe bowl. Microwave on high (100%) for 30 seconds to 1 minute or until runny. Brush cake top with jam.6.  Serve with cream. This is one delightful cake you would want to serve for afternoon tea with a nice cup of tea, or coffee if you prefer, then we will just call it afternoon snack. I am making this again this weekend and I will try adding a bit of cinnamon sugar in the cake mix and call it apple cinnamon cake.Recipe from Taste.com.au

This entry was published on July 3, 2012 at 3:43 pm. It’s filed under baking, cooking, desserts, family bonding, food, recipes, Sweet treats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “Delicious Apple Cake – Really!

  1. One word to describe this post – Yummy! =D

  2. Must… Have

    DJ-

  3. This looks fun! Tasty!

  4. This cake sounds perfect for this fall when the apples in my orchard are ripening. It makes such a pretty dessert.

Leave a Reply

