Back Home Enjoying My Own Kitchen

So, I am back from my short Tasmanian getaway. What a beautiful travel experience. I am planning my next trip back already. 🙂 But as much as I enjoyed it, nothing compares to the comfort of home, sleeping in my bed and whipping up something in my kitchen.

My previous (quick one) post was about this chocolate cake with marshmallow and chocolate fudge sauce, which I really enjoyed and thought about recreating once back home. I did yesterday. The very first thing I used my kitchen for – making this decadent treat.This dessert is really all about those marshmallow sauce and chocolate fudge sauce. I am pretty sure they will go well with chocolate puddings and cupcakes but just because I had the chocolate cake, I baked a cake and sort of relive the indulgent experience with every bite of this delicious dessert.For the chocolate cake, use your favourite recipe or buy a pre-mix pack from the supermarket if you like. But please do yourself a favour and buy a really good quality pre-mix packet and not those which tasted like they have been spiked with antibiotics! I have two brands I prefer. I don’t bake cakes that often but if I needed a cake base for desserts like this, I usually get either Betty Crocker Chocolate Fudge Cake or Duncan Hines Devil’s Food Cake box and just follow baking instructions.For the marshmallow sauce, you will need the following to make 2 cups.

  • 75g white chocolate, broken into pieces
  • 100 ml thickened cream
  • 40g white marshmallows

In a small saucepan, melt over low heat all the ingredients, stirring constantly until marshmallows melt and sauce is smooth. Remove from heat.For the hot fudge sauce, you will need the following to make 2 cups.

  • 200g dark cooking chocolate, broken into pieces
  • 1/2 cup thickened cream
  • 50g unsalted butter
  • 2 tbs golden syrup

In a small saucepan, melt all ingredients over medium heat, stirring constantly until smooth.Slice cooled cake and place in serving bowls. Pour hot fudge sauce over cake then marshmallow sauce. There are no rules here, you can have as much or as less marshmallow and fudge sauce with your cake. It’s all up to your sweet tooth craving.Sauce recipes from Woolworths Fresh Magazine.

This entry was published on June 27, 2012 at 6:40 pm. It’s filed under baking, cooking, desserts, family bonding, food, Quick Desserts, recipes, Sweet treats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Back Home Enjoying My Own Kitchen

  1. Thanks for the great recipe.

  2. oh my gosh that sauce looks soo dreamy. Perfect winter pickmeup 🙂

  3. Wow, Amazing Raz

    DJ-

  4. Razel, this is a truly beautiful piece of dessert! It’s total art! Great job!

Leave a Reply

