Individual Apple Pie

Apple pie. I love it but I am not in love with it. But my son loves it. It’s one of those treats that I will have no problem buying from a really good pie shop. For some reason I am not overly challenged to make it myself. You get some Granny Smith apples, cinnamon, sugar and pastry and you have an apple pie … well, after baking the whole thing of course. But talk about the power of visual presentation on the net. I saw this photo of a really interesting individual serve apple pie on Pinterest. It didn’t look traditional at all, presentation-wise and it really got my attention. I got curious, challenged and baked them.

How pretty is that ? And the thing I liked about these pies, everything is edible because you will use the apple as your base instead of a pie crust. Interesting huh?

Apple Pie

(To make 4 individual serve)

Ingredients

  • 5-6 Granny Smith apples that can stand on their own
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • Pie Crust (homemade or pre-made)

Method

1.   Pre-heat oven to 170C degrees.

2.   Cut the top of 4 apples off and discard.  Remove the inside of each apple with a spoon or melon baller very carefully. I used a teaspoon to do the work.

3.   Remove skin from remaining apple(s) and slice very thinly.  These apple pieces will give you the extra filling needed to fill the four apples you are baking.

4.   Mix sliced apples with sugars and cinnamon in a bowl. Adjust amount of sugars and cinnamon according to your “sweet tooth” level. Scoop sliced apples into hollow apples.

5.   Roll out pie crust and slice into 1/4 inch strips. Cover the top of the apple in a lattice pattern with pie crust strips.

 The recipe I used, the girl added a strip of pastry inside the apple before scooping the apple mix into the hollow apples. I did not do it. I did not know why I did not do it but I will tell you later why you might want to do it if you are trying this recipe.
6.   Place apples in an 8×8 pan.  If your apples are big you may need a bigger pan.  Add just enough water to the cover the bottom of the pan. Cover with foil and bake for 20-25 minutes.
 7.   Remove foil and bake for an extra 20 minutes or until crust is golden brown and sliced apples are soft.
Those individual serve apple pies were fantastic. My son loved them served with whipped cream.

Now why a strip of pastry inside the apple can actually be a good thing is because of this.

If you invert them, you get something like the above photo. My apples collapsed and I think the purpose of that pastry strip inside is so the apples will support their form while baking them in the oven. But hey, look at it this way, you can serve them two ways. One is you serve them inverted like above and top them with cream or serve them with the pretty lattice strips showing and top them with cream. 

Either way, these apple pies are sure to satisfy your craving for comfort food.

Here is the link to the recipe I used. Her apple pies looked really good with those apples looking like apples with lattice pastry on top.

Pie ala Apple

This entry was published on June 14, 2012 at 5:37 pm. It’s filed under baking, cooking, desserts, family bonding, food, recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

17 thoughts on “Individual Apple Pie

  1. How lovely!! I like your idea, individual appy pie!

  2. ur pics make me really hungry!!!! they look soo good!

  3. Wow that gives me all kinds of ideas for single pies. Thank you very much. Very nice looking pies.

  4. this is pretty clever 🙂 I love that the apple is also the pie not just the filling 🙂 you just sparked my interest in apple pies haha

  5. How I wish I can one of those apple pie now! =)

  6. I can’t wait to try this recipe when the apples in our orchard are ripe this fall.

  7. Ooh! I love apple pies! And yours seems delicious! I’ll definitely give it a shot!

  8. The presentation is awesom and it really looks so mouth-watering!! Thanks for sharing!

    • Razel on said:

      You’re welcome! Thanks again. I am just about to post another apple recipe..apple cake glazed with apricot jam…I really loved this one.

Leave a Reply

