Chocolate Chip Cookie

Cookies are treats I rarely bake, from scratch anyway. I know a handful of people who cannot be bothered sifting flours to make brownie mixture but would rather buy the pre-mix packets from the shop. I am the same with cookies. For some reason, I couldn’t be bothered sifting the flours, making the dough and rolling them into tiny balls then bake them. I saw this recipe from Taste.com.au for gooey chocolate chip cookies a few days ago.  Sounded really easy to make and the reviews were good so I decided to have a go and give it a try … from scratch!Your choice – gooey or crispy. I like my cookies either way so I made half of the batch gooey and the rest crispy.Ingredients

Method

1.   Preheat oven to 180C. Line 2 oven trays with baking paper.

2.   Use an electric mixer to beat the butter and combined sugars in a medium bowl until pale and creamy. Add the egg and egg yolk and beat until well combined. Add the flour and baking powder and stir with a wooden spoon until combined. Add the chocolate and stir to combine.3.   Roll 2 tablespoonfuls of mixture into a ball. Place on the lined tray.  Repeat with remaining dough. Bake in preheated oven for 12 minutes (or a further 5 minutes for a crisper biscuit).4.    Remove from oven and set aside ; cool completely.These are big cookies so make sure you give enough room for the cookie dough to spread. The cookies when done were as big as my palm (and I promise you I have big hands for a girl!) By the way, I used dark chocolate with almond nuts because I love nuts in my cookies!

This entry was published on May 23, 2012 at 11:41 pm. It’s filed under baking, Cookies, cooking, desserts, food, recipes, Sweet treats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

16 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookie

  1. A good chocolate chip cookie is so under rated. I can taste the chemical taste in the pre-mixed dough and just cannot enjoy it. I like the addition of an extra egg yoke. I am sure that makes it tender and rich.

    • Razel Rull-Navarro on said:

      I know what you mean by the chemical taste in pre-mixed dough or powder for brownies and cakes. My son can tell the difference whether they (brownies) were from scratch or pre-mixed commercially bought.
      Yes, the extra egg yolk was a good thing.

  2. Homemade is ALWAYS better and that pretty much goes for most foods!

  3. I nominated you for a Food Stories Award for Excellence in Storytelling! Make sure to visit the award site at http://foodstoriesblog.com/food-stories-award/ =D

  4. Those Look Insaneeeeeeeeeee

    Hey, I Nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger’s Award Here http://darkjade68.wordpress.com/2012/05/25/kreativ-blogger-award/

    Gratz Raz

    DJ-

  5. I’m also giving you My “Dedicated Follower Award”, Lol http://darkjade68.wordpress.com/2012/05/26/dedicated-follower-award/

    So take that, Lol

    DJ-

  6. Wow, Wow, Wow these Cookies Look Amazing By The Way, Lol

    DJ-

Leave a Reply

