When The Cousins Get Together.

Sunday night was fun having the cousins at our place for a little get-together dinner. Pizza, pasta, garlic bread, bocconcini salad and even Italian beverages. I would have called it “An Italian Night” but then there was this very northern American dessert we all heartily enjoyed – Devil’s Food Cake. I know I could have made a Tiramisu to stick with the Italian theme but this recipe I found online was no ordinary devil’s food cake. As if it wasn’t indulgent enough, between two moist cake layers was a filling of cream cheese, whipped cream and crushed Oreo cookies. Oh, and yes, it was chocolate coated too. How sinful! 😀

Chocolate-coated Oreo Cookie Cake

You can use a ready devil’s food cake mix or make your own if you have a very good, tried and tested recipe for it.  I used Duncan Hines Devil’s Food Cake Mix ( 2-layer size) and just followed the baking instructions on the package. For this Oreo cookie cake, instead of using the two cake layers to make one cake, I sliced each cake into halves and ended up with two Oreo cakes.

Ingredients

  • 1 package devil’s food cake mix
  • 120g semi-sweet chocolate
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 220g cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 cups whipped cream
  • 12 Oreo cookies, coarsely crushed

Method

1.   Prepare cake batter as directed on package. Cool cakes in pans for 10 minutes then invert onto wire racks. Gently remove pans; cool cakes completely.

2.   For the cream cheese filling: Beat cream cheese and sugar in a large bowl with mixer until blended. Gently stir in whipped cream and crushed cookies.

3.   For the chocolate coating : Microwave chocolate and butter in a microwaveable bowl on high for 2 minutes, or until butter is melted. Stir until chocolate is completely melted. Cool for 5 minutes.

4.   To assemble cake : Place 1 cake layer on plate, spread with cream cheese mixture. Top with remaining cake layer.

Spread top with chocolate glaze.Let stand for 10 minutes or until firm. Keep refrigerated.

From the website where I got the recipe from was this warning.
Be warned: According to readers, if you serve this delectable treat as a birthday cake, you’ll be starting a tradition. One that’s going to be tough to break.
And yes, heed the warning! Recipe adapted from Kraft Recipes
This entry was published on April 30, 2012 at 11:16 pm. It’s filed under baking, Cookies, cooking, desserts, family bonding, food, recipes, Sweet treats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “When The Cousins Get Together.

  1. Looks amazing – what a great idea!!

  2. Typically I would not be excited about a dessert like that, but yours looks seriously sinful. The power of journalism ! 🙂

    • Razel Rull-Navarro on said:

      😀 Thanks…and true that, the power of journalism! Truth be known, I am not a big fan of cakes like this for dessert. Cake for me is something you have for afternoon tea or celebrations. Two of the cousins had their birthdays a couple of weeks ago and I missed the dinner celebration so I thought I’d host a pizza pasta night and bake them a cake, which is this one….this was actually a birthday cake 😀

  3. oh my gosh! This looks awesome and sinful as hell. I am hoping to try this. Though I should try a low-calory alternative, methinks I ain’t. And cousins night: sounds so cheery. I miss my cousins who are all back home…

    • Razel Rull-Navarro on said:

      Thanks! The only low-calorie substitute I could think of is using a light cheese cream but really with all the rest of ingredients, good luck finding substitute ingredients 🙂

      Yeah, all my family are back in my native country. It’s just me, my husband and our son and hubby’s aunt and a handful of his cousins here … so, getting together every now and then is really good and fun.

Leave a Reply

