Pork Parcels and Wild Rice

I don’t know what got into me but I bought a kilogram of pork tenderloin! I have to confess that cooking-wise, pork is the least type of meat I experiment with. I cook traditional Filipino dishes with it, which is not even often I must say, but other than that and the occasional pork terrine, I have not really played around much with it. So, I must warn you that you may see a few pork recipes from me during the next few days.

I absolutely loved what I did with the pork tenderloin. Something rustic and luxurious. I know apples go well with it and I used my favorite herb, thyme and wrapped the pork pieces with prosciutto. I served it with mixed boiled white and wild rice. The mix of flavors was really good and the nutty texture of the wild rice was really enjoyableIngredients

  • 1 firm dessert apple
  • 1 clove garlic, peeled and crushed
  • 500g pork tenderloin
  • 8 fresh thyme sprigs
  • 8 slices of prosciutto
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 15g butter
  • 150 ml double cream
  • 2 tbs apple brandy
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • lemon slices, to garnish

Method

1.   Core the apple and cut into 8 wedges. Trim the pork and cut into 8 pieces. Flatten each piece with a meat mallet until 1 cm thick.

2.   Top each piece of pork with a thyme sprig. Wrap a slice of prosciutto around each piece.3.   Heat oil in pan. Add the pork parcels and garlic. Cook over high heat for 10 minutes, turning once or until cooked through. Remove from pan and keep warm.

4.   Melt butter in pan. Add apple slices and cook over high heat for 3-4 minutes, turning  occasionally until tender. Add the cream and brandy. Simmer for 3 minutes, stirring frequently until thickened. Season. Return the parcels and heat through for about 1 minute. Serve with boiled mixed white and wild rice.

For the rice, I mixed 1 cup of wild rice to 1 1/2 cups long grain rice and simmer for 40-45 minutes. Wild rice, contrary to the name, is not actually a member of the rice family, although it is a grain producing grass and is native to North America. It is also called Canada rice, Indian rice and water oats.I thought about making  wild rice salad at first but decided to keep it simple and let the creamy and luxurious taste of the pork parcels dominate. 

Drizzle those extra creamy sauce on top of the parcels. Divine!

This entry was published on April 16, 2012 at 9:58 pm. It’s filed under cooking, food, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Pork Parcels and Wild Rice

  1. Your pork bundles sound delicious.

  2. Beautiful dish and great pictures.

  3. Wow, that looks Amazing Raz

    DJ-

Leave a Reply

