Spicy Chicken Tortillas

My family loves Mexican food especially tacos and nachos and any tortilla-based meal for two main reasons – for its hot and spicy flavor and the other one is, it is such an easy meal to prepare. I find it easy anyway because I just usually buy the kit, which includes the tortillas, seasoning and sauce already. All I have to do is buy and cook the meat, if I am using any and slice lettuce, avocados and tomatoes and they are ready. I even buy the grated cheese packet. So really, Mexican food for us is like my “I-am-lazy-to-cook” day.

I was having one of those days last week. I grabbed the usual Mexican food kit then I noticed a whole new range of Mexican food brand next to the regular brand I get. I got curious, grabbed a pack of white corn tortillas and read the label. Now for some of you, you will maybe have noticed by now how I like trying supermarket recipes.  And most often than not, they would turn out to be really good recipes. I found this spicy chicken tortilla recipe on the label and it sounded easy and quick enough to make. So, I decided this will be the day when I would make my tortilla dish from scratch, as in I am not buying pre-packed seasoning . I even grated the cheese myself! Alright, maybe not really everything from scratch since the tortillas were ready to heat. But you get the idea. Or who knows, maybe I will make my own tortillas one dayIngredients

  • 12 white corn tortillas
  • 1/2 tsp vegetable oil
  • 2 green onions, thinly sliced diagonally
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 350g chicken mince
  • 1/2 tsp chilli powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 large tomatoes, diced
  • 150g can corn kernels, drained
  • 1 tbs fresh coriander leaves, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp lime juice
  • 1/2 head of iceberg lettuce, washed and sliced
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • 1/2 cup grated tasty cheese

Method

1.   Heat oil in a frying pan over medium heat. Add onion and garlic. Cook, stirring for 3 minutes or until softened. Add the mince. Cook, stirring with a wooden spoon to break up mince for about five minutes or until browned.

2.   Add chilli, ground coriander and cumin. Cook for 1 minute or until fragrant. Add tomato and corn. Cook, stirring, for 10 minutes or until tomatoes softened and mince is cooked through. Remove from heat. Stir in coriander and lime.3.   Heat tortillas following packet directions. Divide lettuce and avocado between tortillas. Spoon over mince mixture. Sprinkle with grated cheese.4.   Roll up tortillas to enclose or just fold them like soft tacos to serve.The verdict. The recipe was good. It was spicy enough for me but not hot and spicy enough for the boys. Thus, a bottle of Tabasco sauce is always handy. As for whether I will stop from buying ready-made seasoning? Hmm… I will still probably have those lazy-to-cook days so yes, I will still buy them when I want a quick Mexican food fix. 🙂

This entry was published on April 10, 2012 at 6:16 pm. It’s filed under cooking, family bonding, food, Quick Meals, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “Spicy Chicken Tortillas

  1. I printed this one as I love mexican food….and this dish seems easy to make 😉 Thanks for sharing!! 🙂

  2. Oh yeahh, Yum… Love Mexican Food

    DarkJade-

  3. I could eat some form of taco every day of my life. Seriously!

  4. Pingback: $10 for $20 Worth of Mexican Fare and Drinks at Super Mex Restaurant & Cantina » Get your daily Groupon deals

Leave a Reply

