Of Escargots, Chorizo and Kale

I had a lovely catch-up time with one of my very good friends yesterday. I’ve known her for a decade now, one of the very first friendships I have formed after moving to Sydney. We met at the commercial cookery course we did and hit it off straight away. Though we don’t see each other as often as we wanted to, we get in touch as often as possible on the phone, emails, social networks … any way we can update each other with what’s-new-with-you conversations. She is a very private person, by the way thus I won’t mention her name but she will be able to read this later via her Google reader so I want to tell the WordPress world how grateful I am to her. She was the one who pushed me and encouraged me to start  this food blog, which I am absolutely enjoying. And now my dearest friend V, your turn to put up all your wonderful creations out there for everyone to appreciate them.

We went to this Italian food market yesterday and had brunch at their café. Man, we enjoyed every bite of the food we ordered. We were looking at the menu and the breakfast items all sounded delicious that it took us a while to decide what to order.  The Italian wait staff was politely waiting for us and seemed happy that we didn’t order any coffee or drinks. My friend and I decided to order different items so we can share and have a taste of each other’s dish. I had the poached Florentine eggs while she ordered the bruschetta with goat’s cheese, avocado slices, tomatoes and poached egg. On the side was rocket salad with shaved parmesan cheese.

Bruschetta with goat's cheese, avocado slices and tomatoes.

They were both divine and I thought of recreating the dishes for breakfast this weekend.  I particularly loved the goat’s cheese used so we looked around the food market for a suitable type of cheese. Of course, we didn’t stop at the cheese room. That’s one of the things I like about this Italian Providore, that they have practically everything you need, it’s a one-stop food shop. My friend who initially told me she will just have a look around ended up with a basket in her hands. I planned to just have a store-bought wood fired pizza for dinner last night but ended up cooking a couple of other dishes. I was walking past the fresh vegetables room, saw bunches of kale for sale and remembered Nick’s (Frugal Feeding) chorizo and kale broth, which I was intending to try. I bought a bunch of kale, a couple of chorizo from their deli section.

This chorizo and kale broth is now officially one of my favorites. So easy to make and very light and refreshing. Very tasty! For the recipe, here’s the link to Nick’s chorizo and kale broth. You have to try it really.

While making my way to the cashier to pay, I saw something which I have been looking for some time now – escargots! They are tinned escargots but hey, I was happy to try them since fresh ones are not readily available. I love snails. I remember having escargot soup when I was a little girl. Probably an acquired taste because I usually get a “yuck” reaction when I tell people I love snails. Anyway, I tried the recommended butter sauce recipe on the label and it turned out really good.Butter sauce ingredients:

  • 100g butter, at room temperature
  • 1 tsp salt
  • a pinch of pepper
  • chopped parsley, to taste
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 small shallot, chopped very fine
  • grated nutmeg, to taste
  • 1 tsp brandy (optional)

Method:

1.   Place snails in a baking dish.

2.   Blend all ingredients and cover snails with sauce.

3.   Bake at 180 C degrees for 10-12 minutes, or until the butter sauce sizzles.

Love these babies! 😀So really, what a fab day it was yesterday!

This entry was published on March 29, 2012 at 6:16 pm. It’s filed under cooking, food, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Of Escargots, Chorizo and Kale

  1. I enjoy snails and order them when they appear on a menu. Unfortunately I’ve never seen them in the markets where I live. Your snails must have been delicious.

    • Razel Rull-Navarro on said:

      Same here…I mean I enjoy snails too. I have not seen fresh ones though since leaving the Philippines where snails are common in the market. The tinned ones I tried turned out good…well imagine them drowning in that garlic butter sauce 😀

  2. Pingback: Preppers Cooking Class for Two or Four at Rosa’s Market and Deli in Post Falls (Up to 52% Off) » Get your daily Groupon deals

  3. Pingback: $15 for $30 Worth of Italian Groceries and Deli Fare at Maggitti’s Italian Market in Fallston » Get your daily Groupon deals

Leave a Reply

