Tiramisu

I have told people so many times how I LOVE tiramisu but never really tried making it myself. I love a good tiramisu. Those layers of sponge biscuits soaked in coffee, rich mascarpone cream and a generous dusting of cocoa powder. Aah … heaven! And this may sound ridiculous but I only buy it if prepared by an Italian, or at least from an authentic-looking Italian food shop. I will not forget this man from my cooking class a decade ago, an Italian by birth, who prepared a tiramisu for everyone on the last day of cooking class. Man, it was good! Then I discovered a local Italian shop in our neighborhood after that, which sold really good tiramisu. Yes, sold … as in they don’t sell it anymore because the woman who used to make it for them has moved interstate. Shame really. But what is more shameful was this  … the time we were in Italy, for some reason I never got to eating tiramisu! I was maybe busy admiring the rustic doors and windows (yes, I have a weird liking for rustic doors and windows) that I completely forgot I was in tiramisu country.

Well, today was the day. I finally decided to make one. And really, after a somewhat somber day, I could use some  pick-me-up treat.

Layers of sponge biscuits soaked in coffee, rich mascarpone cream and a generous dusting of cocoa powder have contributed to the enormous success of this dessert today.

Ingredients

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 120 g caster sugar
  • 180 g mascarpone
  • 300 ml cream, for whipping
  • 3 tbs Kahlua
  • 500 ml strong coffee, cooled
  • 20-24 savoiardi ( sponge finger biscuits)
  • cocoa powder, for dusting

Method

1.   Beat the egg yolks with the sugar until the sugar has dissolved and the mixture is light. Add the mascarpone and mix well. Beat the cream into stiff peaks and gently fold into the mascarpone mixture, then spread a thin layer of mascarpone cream over the base of a deep 12-inch square dish or 14-inch oval dish.

2.   Add the Kahlua to the coffee. Dip the sponge fingers into the coffee, soaking them well enough. Depending on the freshness of the biscuits, they may require more or less soaking, but be careful not to oversoak.

3.   Arrange a layer of sponge fingers close together in the dish. You may need to break them to fit the shape of your dish. 4.   Cover with a layer of mascarpone cream, then another layer of sponge fingers, arranging them in the opposite direction to the first layer. Repeat the layers finishing with mascarpone cream. Smooth the top and keep chilled until ready to serve.

5.   Generously dust with cocoa powder just before serving.Tiramisu is best made several hours in advance so that the flavors have time to blend before serving.A real pick-me-up moment!Recipe from Le Cordon Bleu Home Collection – Italian

This entry was published on March 21, 2012 at 11:14 pm. It’s filed under desserts, food, Quick Desserts, recipes, Sweet treats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

21 thoughts on “Tiramisu

  1. It looks delicious Razel — Great job!

  2. I have been wanting to make this and have been really nervous to do so. The pics are a great guide. Thanks for sharing! Signed, tiramisu lover

  3. Oh Man That Looks Great

    DarkJade-

  4. Like, you I also need a Tiramisu fix on occasion. And I used to make a fair one as well.

    Sadly, though, I have some chocolate allergies and my Sig-Oth does not like coffee. It’s a culinary Perfect Storm. 😦

    • Razel Rull-Navarro on said:

      Chocolate allergies? Nooo … well, it’s just like me I guess, I have red wine and alcohol allergies but…I still have Mojitos anyway 😀

      • Oh no– I would rather do without chocolate! (Like you, I cheat a bit as well and pay the price later…)

        But you still do cook with alcohol, yes? I have a great recipe for port wine braised short ribs…

        With such sad tales to tell, we should start a food allergy blog. It could be called “What I can’t eat that I eat anyway” or maybe just simply: “Forbidden Fruit”!

    • Razel Rull-Navarro on said:

      Yes, I still do cook with wine. And care to share your port wine braised short ribs? That sounds lovely.

      I know…I am sure we will have many co-bloggers with the Forbidden Fruit blog if ever! 😀

  5. omgash your tiramisu looks wonderful! 🙂 making one’s on my food bucket list hehe

  6. Pingback: $19 for $40 Worth of Upscale Southern-Italian Fare at Casanova Italian Restaurant » Get your daily Groupon deals

  7. Pingback: Italian Week – Tiramisu « Romancing the Bee

  8. Pingback: i love tiramisu « Butterflies and Bunny Rabbits

Leave a Reply

