Pork and Veal Terrine

Other than the cocktails, mostly Mojitos for me, I like sharing a charcuterie board with friends if we are out at the pub or bar. I love those melt-in-your-mouth strips of prosciutto and the little cornichons, olives and crusty bread served with the meat slices.

One of the best I've had so far was from the local bar, aptly called The Local Bar in our neighborhood. Great service and friendly staff as well.

So, I was inspired to make a terrine, which is a French forcemeat loaf, for dinner the other night. I know it is one of those dishes that need a bit of work and waiting before you can fully savor it. The cooking process, the cooling and then the pressing involve, not to mention you have to wait overnight or up to a few days may sound too much work but I think it is all worth it.

Ingredients

  • 8-10 slices rindless bacon
  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 kg pork and veal mince
  • 1 cup fresh breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 cup brandy
  • 3 tsp chopped fresh thyme
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

Method

1.   Preheat oven to moderate 180 C degrees. Lightly grease a 25 x 11 cm terrine or loaf pan if you don’t have a terrine. Line it with the bacon so that they hang over the sides.

2.   Heat oil in frying pan, add onion and garlic and cook for 2-3 minutes, or until the onion is soft. Mix the onion with the rest of the ingredients in a large bowl. Season with salt and pepper. Fry a small piece of the mixture to check the seasoning, and adjust if necessary.

3.   Spoon the mixture into the bacon-lined terrine, pressing down firmly. Fold bacon over the top of the terrine, cover with foil and place in a baking dish. Place enough hot water in the baking dish to come up half way the sides of the terrine. Bake for 1-1 1/4 hours, or until the juices run clear when the terrine is pierced with a skewer.

4.   Remove the terrine from the water-filled baking dish and pour off excess juices. Cover with foil, then put a heavy piece of cardboard, cut to fit, on top of the terrine. Put the weights or food cans on top of the cardboard to compress the terrine. Refrigerate overnight before serving.

Pressing involves placing a heavy object on top of the dish while the dish stays in the refrigerator for as long as a few days. This pressing method releases trapped air pockets that keep the terrine from being smooth.

Serve the terrine with sour cherries and watercress.

And next time I make a terrine for dinner, maybe I should make some Mojitos too. Cheers!

This entry was published on March 19, 2012 at 10:09 pm. It’s filed under cooking, food, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

17 thoughts on “Pork and Veal Terrine

  1. Thanks for sharing that recipe. I love pork terrine, and you can’t get a decent one very easily in the UK. I spend a lot of time in the South of France and a number of the restaurants I go to serve the pate course in a massive bowl so you ca serve yourself.

  2. I enjoy a meat terrine for their delicious flavor and think yours is worth the wait. It looks lovely.

  3. Yum!
    I am always happy to see a terrine come my way. I enjoy your blog and thanks so much for finding mine 🙂
    Cheers,
    M

  4. Pingback: Mmmmm Monday « Elle's Musings

  5. Kaitlyn on said:

    Delicious! So funny you mentioned charcuterie boards. I absolutely love them too! I’m planning a picnic this Saturday and obviously already brain-stormed my list of meats & cheeses.

    • Razel Rull-Navarro on said:

      Thanks. Yeah, I love charcuterie boards. And hey, so what time do I have to get there? The picnic I mean 😀 Have fun!

  6. Do my ears deceive? Pork wrapped in bacon? As Scooby Doo would say, “Whaaaaaat?”

    You are an Evil Woman– there should be more of you out there. Suffice it to say, we have gotta make this too– it’s just too sssssssssssmokin’ not to try!

    Given that you have just entered the Australian Autumn, this would be a great dish to serve. But I’m thinking that it might not be so bad in the New York Spring.

    While I see a full bodied Cab-Shiraz blend in you future. if you need a recipe for a great mojito, I’m your man. Cheers!

    .

  7. Razel Rull-Navarro on said:

    Haha … yeah pork wrapped in bacon but hey, it’s pretty much like that thing they do over there in the States…the turducken (?) … the chicken inside the duck, then duck inside the turkey…now that is way too much! But heard it is good though.

    I will take that as a compliment 😛 …and yes, maybe post a Mojito recipe I can make. Cheers!

  8. Pingback: French Country Terrine — Never Enough Thyme - Recipes with a slight southern accent.

Leave a Reply

