Thai Chicken Balls

Raised in Asia, the Philippines in particular yet I would choose pasta or bread over rice. I can eat traditional Filipino dishes like adobo or caldereta or menudo without rice. That will sound strange to many Filipinos I guess because you normally have those ย with rice. Of course I still do eat rice. Paella is one of my favorite dishes. But I will have no problem just eating the meat and vegetables when served with traditional Filipino cuisine. I don’t know. Maybe it was because when I was a little girl, my aunt made sure I didn’t eat much rice because of its high sugar content. I just maybe got into the habit of not eating rice much, then I discovered how bread isย more interesting, at least for my taste anyway. ๐Ÿ™‚

Now these chicken balls, I like them because I can have them with or without rice or noodles. Packed with flavors, they are tasty on their own or dipped in sweet chilli sauce. Easy to prepare and cook, easy to nibble on them as well. Just like eating chicken popcorn.Ingredients

  • 1 kg chicken mince ( ground chicken)
  • 1 cup fresh breadcrumbs
  • 4 spring onions, sliced
  • 1 tbs ground coriander
  • 1 cup chopped fresh coriander
  • 3 tbs sweet chilli sauce
  • 1-2 tbs lemon juice
  • oil, for frying

Method

1. ย  Preheat oven to moderately hot 200 C degrees.

2. ย  Except for the oil, mix all ingredients in a bowl.3. ย  Using damp hands, form the mixture into evenly shaped balls that are either small enough to eat with your fingers or large enough to use as burgers.4. ย  Heat the oil in frying pan, and shallow-fry chicken balls in batches over high heat until browned all over. Place them on a baking tray and bake until cooked through. The small chicken balls will take 5 minutes to cook and the larger ones will take 10-15 minutes.

Serve them as appetizers.

Or as mains with rice or noodles and some Asian greens.

This entry was published on March 16, 2012 at 3:24 pm. It’s filed under food, Quick Meals, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

13 thoughts on “Thai Chicken Balls

  1. Those look Awesome

    DarkJade-

  2. Mmm..I’d eat this with rice! Haha. I’m super Filipino with my rice eating haha.

  3. Looks delicious!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. This recipe sounds wonderful!! I love chicken burgers .. .so I know this will be great. Your photos are fantastic.

  5. Jenn E. on said:

    So glad to follow your blog, Razel! These meatballs sound soo good! Just like something I would make ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Those look amazing! And I’m with you – I’d take pasta & bread over rice anyday!

    • Razel Rull-Navarro on said:

      Thanks! Hey, noticed you’re from Florida, or I may be wrong. A friend of mine gave me a recipe for jerk chicken and jamaican rice. Ever had those? I actually liked them.

  7. Pingback: $15 for $30 Worth of Thai Fare and Two Glasses of Champagne at Nodus Thai Noodles and Rice in Sunnyside ($44 Value) » Get your daily Groupon deals

Leave a Reply

