Key Lime Pie – With A Little Help From A Friend

With all the hundreds of versions of key lime pie available online and from cookbooks, how do you choose which one to make? Not to mention that most of them would say “traditional” key lime pie recipe. So, what to do? Well, good for me I have a friend raised in Florida so I was thinking, best ask someone who knows key lime pies. So, my friend gave me this recipe link, which was sort of like a marriage of the previous two recipes I have tried. I made my digging as well as how key lime pies are traditionally made. Apparently, they are not baked at all but a certain reaction occurs when combining the acidic lime juice and condensed milk. The reaction causes the filling to thicken on its own, thus the non-requirement to bake the pie. Also, the juice from the lime actually “cooks” the pie. Of course, with all the health issues and requirements these days, baking the pie for a short period in the oven is done to kill any bacteria from the raw eggs.Unfortunately, the small limes (Citrus aurantifolia)  they use in Florida for this pie are not available in Sydney so I have to make do with the bigger variety, Persian lime. Now I can’t help but think of all those Citrus aurantifolia my grandfather used to grow back in the Philippines. “Dayap” as commonly known in the Philippines, you can get them all the time.Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup lime juice (about 6-8 pieces of Persian lime)
  • 390g condensed milk
  • 8″-9″ pie shell

Unlike in the States, ready-made pie shell is not available here. For the crust, combine the following ingredients, press them on bottom and up sides of pie plate and bake for 10-12 minutes at 200C degrees.

Again, one ingredient not readily available is the graham cracker. The Filipino shop where I get them don’t have them in stock. I used the plainest biscuits I found, arrowroot milk as substitute. I used a  spring form pan instead of pie plate to bake my pie in, only for the reason that I find it easier to lift the pie off a spring form pan without breaking it. Now you see why I cannot call this recipe traditional at all with the substitutions I made. 🙂

Method

1.   Pre-heat oven at 180C degrees.

2.   Whisk eggs and milk until smooth. Pour in lime juice and continue mixing until smooth. Pour mixture into the pie shell and bake for 10-12 minutes.

3.   Allow to cool once out of the oven and refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving. You can stick it in the freezer for 20-30 minutes before serving to make the pie a bit firmer if you want.

Serve with whipped cream. I see some photos with the pie smothered on top with whipped cream. You can do so of course but since there are only three of us and we definitely will not finish the pie in one sitting, I prefer to just cut slices and serve with the cream, then put the rest back in the refrigerator.

Recipe adapted from MyFavoritePie.com

This entry was published on March 11, 2012 at 3:00 pm. It’s filed under baking, desserts, food, recipes, Sweet treats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Key Lime Pie – With A Little Help From A Friend

  1. I have not made a Key Lime Pie in forever. Maybe I will convert this recipe and made Key Lime bars for the kids at Cal-Wood. Yummy.

  2. beautiful photos! I’ve never made a key lime pie and certainly didn’t know about the chemistry of it, thanks for sharing a “true” recipe!

Leave a Reply

