Light and Lemony Linguine and Roasted Prawns

The weather has not been kind to me lately. It is the last day of summer down under, technically and I have to say I am glad about that. It was just too hot the past few days and I am blaming that for the cough and cold and horrible headache I am suffering from now. But tell you what, that did not stop me from cooking last. I left work an hour early, stopped by the supermarket to get the ingredients I will need for that night. I found this roasted prawns and orzo recipe  from  foodnetworkasia.com  and was dead set to try it. Anyway, grabbed the herbs, cucumber, feta cheese, prawns and what do you know? The supermarket was out of orzo stock. I thought about checking the other store but I was feeling bit unwell and the thought of walking under 31C degrees heat was not really encouraging. I knew there was still a pack of linguine at home so I chose to be flexible. Orzo and linguine, different texture and form but still both pasta. And lemon linguine really is nice so I don’t think you can go wrong substituting orzo with linguine, just for this recipe anyway.

What I like about this dish is it so simple to make and is bursting with flavors.

Cook the pasta according to packet instructions. Add the lemon juice and olive oil mixture.

Chop, mince and dice the herbs, cucumber and feta cheese.

Drizzle the prawns with olive oil; sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast them for 5-6 minutes.

Mix them all together and dinner is ready… soon. You have to allow the flavors to develop first before serving the dish. You can prepare desserts in the meantime, or just simply relax. 🙂

Set aside for an hour at room temperature to allow flavors to develop.

Roasted Prawns and Linguine

  • Salt
  • Olive oil
  • 350g linguine (or orzo, rice-shaped pasta)
  • 120ml freshly squeezed lemon juice, about 3 lemons
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 kg prawns ( 16-18 count), peeled and deveined
  • 225g spring onions, white and green parts, minced
  • 25g fresh dill, chopped
  • 40g fresh flat-leaf parsley, chopped
  • 1 cucumber, unpeeled, seeded, medium diced
  • 375g good feta cheese, large diced

Honestly, the herbs measurement are just there to give you a guide. Most times, I adjust the quantity depending on how many people I am cooking for. Same thing with the pasta. Over the years, I have learned how much to cook for my family to avoid food waste.

Method:

1.   Preheat the oven to 200C degrees.

2.   Cook pasta according to packet instruction. Drain and pour into a large bowl.

3.   Whisk together in a jug the lemon juice, 8 tbs of olive oil, 2 tsp of salt and 1 tsp of pepper. Pour over the hot pasta and stir well.

4.   Place prawns on a baking sheet; drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Toss to combine and spread in a single layer. Roast for 5-6 minutes. Do not overcook prawns or they will be tough and chewy.

5.   Add prawns to pasta; add spring onion, herbs, cucumber, 2 tsp salt and 1 tsp pepper. Toss well. Add the feta cheese and stir. Set aside in room temperature for an hour to allow flavors to develop.

Something light and lemony.

This entry was published on February 29, 2012 at 2:53 pm. It’s filed under cooking, food, Quick Meals, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Light and Lemony Linguine and Roasted Prawns

  1. Pingback: Griddled Bananas « Food Safari

  2. I definitely have to try this, hopefully I can find some prawns today! I really like the idea of lemony pasta with prawns 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  3. Razel Rull-Navarro on said:

    You’re welcome 🙂

  4. Yum! This recipe sounds great and looks delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

