Mediterranean Mix

I have to admit that the festive mix of colors this cuisine has to offer is one of the reasons why I like it. The bright red tomatoes, different hues of the mix salad greens, the contrast of the white cheese against the bright colors are just enticing. Of course how the dish actually tastes is a big reason, plus the aroma and texture as well. This is what food should be about anyway. It should satisfy all senses, which makes dining a very pleasurable experience.

Chef Connie posted a  Greek meatballs recipe a few days ago and got me really interested so I tried it. Lamb and feta cheese combination – you cannot go wrong with that. With just one tiny substitution, from red wine to red balsamic vinegar because I get really bad allergic reactions to red wine, the dish turned out good as well. I also like the fact that you can freeze any remaining portions for later use. I didn’t freeze them but turn them into another meal the following night. I also liked the rich flavor of these meatballs. Seriously, you can actually smell the balsamic vinegar while they are baking in the oven, which was intoxicating, in a good way of course.

Greek Lamb Meatballs

  • 500g lean lamb mince
  • 500g lean beef mince
  • 3 cloves garlic minced fine
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh oregano or 1 tablespoon dried
  • 1/2 cup good feta cheese crumbles
  • 2  eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/4 red balsamic vinegar (or red wine)

Mix everything together in a bowl and let sit in your refrigerator for 1-2 hours or until cold.  This is to allow the flavors to develop and blend and the meat to firm making it easier to shape them into balls.

Shape meat into balls and bake for 20 minutes at 220C degrees.  Let cool and serve with your choice of salad mix, cherry or grape tomatoes, olives,stuffed baby peppers and Greek-style yoghurt. We had some warm slices of ciabatta served as well.

I made 18 pieces of meatballs from the mixture and made the rest into burger patties. If you are making them all into meatballs, you can freeze remaining portions for later use into pasta or maybe soup recipes.

I served the meatballs on a bed of Mediterranean salad mix and crumbled feta cheese with balsamic vinegar dressing.

Marinated mix of olives.

Feta-filled sweet baby peppers.

 

 The next night, burger night. Just be creative. I used focaccia garlic rolls instead of just plain burger buns. Add some salad leaves, tomato slices and the Greek-style yoghurt … very satisfying meal.

 

This entry was published on February 26, 2012 at 12:44 am. It’s filed under cooking, food, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Mediterranean Mix

  1. I just made these myself! I really like your use of feta and balsamic vinegar. I’ll definitely have to try them 🙂

    • Razel Rull-Navarro on said:

      Thanks 🙂 It was suggested by chef Connie actually when I asked her what can I substitute the red wine with. I should have mentioned that 🙂 It was a nice combination of flavors indeed.

  2. This makes me want to go back to Greece! Beautiful display.

  3. This has really made my day! I am so glad you tried the meatballs.

  4. Pingback: Parable of Brown Sugar: Radical Self Care and Nourishing of Your Spirit | Fish Oil Truth

  5. Pingback: wineandcuisine.net | The Mediterranean Region

Leave a Reply

