Tuesday’s Treat

It’s Pancake Tuesday! Not that I need a festival as an excuse to have pancakes because honestly, I love pancakes! Basic and traditional or savory pancakes, I like them all. Why celebrate Pancake Tuesday? It’s a long story so I searched for the simplest explanation if some are wondering what Pancake Day is all about. Click on this link for more information.

I have a basic pancake recipe adapted from Family Circle‘s cookbook, Cooking: A Commonsense Guide. What I like about this particular recipe is you can add your own touch and variation. For Pancake Tuesday, I made a not-so-traditional pancake – Chocolate Chips Pancake.

Pancake Stack (Basic recipe)

To serve 4 persons:

To serve pancake stack with

Method:

1. ย  Sift all dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, sugar and a pinch of salt) in a large bowl. Make a well in the center.

2. ย  Whisk wet ingredients (milk, eggs and butter) in a jug and pour into the well (dry mixture) all at once. Whisk well to form a smooth batter. You could use a food processor or hand-held beater if you want.

3. ย  Cover the bowl with a plastic wrap and let rest in the refrigerator for 20 minutes.

Now for the little twist I made, I melted 100g of dark choco melts. Let it cool before adding (stirring in a swirl motion) it into the batter. You may also add half a cup of chocolate chips if you wish. I did. ๐Ÿ™‚

Add cooled melted chocolate into the batter.

For other variations, you can add blueberries or even corn kernels for a savory pancake.

4. ย  Heat a frying pan and brush lightly with butter or oil. Pour 1/4 cup of batter and cook over low heat for 1 minute, or until the underside is golden.

5. ย  Turn the pancake over with a spatula and cook the other side very quickly, about 10 seconds. Transfer to a plate and keep warm while cooking the rest of the batter.

For the basic pancake : Whip the 100g melted butter with a wooden spoon or electric beaters. Serve pancakes stacked, warm or cold, with whipped butter and maple syrup.

For the Chocolate Chips Pancake : Melt 50g of dark chocolate melts and drizzle on top of pancake stack.

Happy Pancake Day!

This entry was published on February 21, 2012 at 7:48 pm. It’s filed under desserts, food, recipes, Sweet treats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

11 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Treat

  1. That looks like a really great and decadent stack of pancakes – nice post.

  2. Pingback: Pancake Day | Fish, Chips & Mushy Peas

  3. Pancakes with chocolate…yum.

  4. Chocolate chip pancakes…I’m going to be 44 this year (!) and to this day I still love me some ccpancakes, I gotta tell ya.

    For treats, for my girls, I cook off some gluten-free pancakes, slather them with peanut butter, roll them up like burritos, then stick them in the freezer for later use. I’ll gently re-heat them in the microwave on low heat for about 3 minutes. It’s always a winner.

    • Razel Rull-Navarro on said:

      Aha! Another gen X like me ๐Ÿ™‚ I will be 42 this year and yup ….love my pancakes still … especially blueberry pancakes. But I’ll try your peanut butter pancake rolls….will search your blog for the recipe.

      • Razel,

        There is no formal recipe. Simply make some pancakes, spread some PB onto them, roll them, and wrap them up to slap into fridge. Simple.

        I can’t eat blueberries, alas. My intestines don’t appreciate them like they used to when I wore a younger man’s face.

      • Razel Rull-Navarro on said:

        Cool! I’ll use my recipe then and do the PB thing.
        Cheers!

  5. Pingback: Day Fifty-Three..#Pancake Recipe « Confessions of an Apple Junkie

  6. Pingback: Mississippi Pancakes « Kerrys Recipes

Leave a Reply

