Jalapeno Cheese Muffins

I saw this savory muffin recipe Yvonne (Trials In Food) made a few weeks ago and the main ingredients caught my attention – jalapeño peppers and cheese. Other than blueberry muffins, I love any type of savory muffins. I think they have more character in them and the flavor combinations are endless and always good. Anyway, I told Yvonne I would let her know how the muffins turned out. Taking note of the few adjustments she made with the recipe she adapted from Food.com, I made an adjustment myself considering that she said the muffins she made turned out to be more like scones or biscuits but still good anyway. I thought of adding a bit more of sour cream in trying to make it moist and more savory.

Jalapeno Cheddar Muffins (Adapted from Food.com)

(makes 6)

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  •  1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tbs white sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup grated cheese
  • 1/2 tbs finely minced onion
  • 1/2 cup yoghurt or 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/8 cup melted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tbs finely chopped jalapeño peppers

Except for the yoghurt/sour cream measure, I followed everything else. I used a cup of sour cream instead.

Those jalapeño peppers are nasty! Silly me, I didn't wear gloves when chopping them. You would have thought that after many times of washing hands and having a shower, the next day when I put on my contact lens ... ouch! I should have listened to the warning : Hot peppers!

You basically have two mixtures of ingredients here. The wet one : In a bowl,whisk together the yoghurt (or sour cream), melted butter, eggs and jalapeno pepper.

In another large bowl, mix your dry ingredients together : baking powder, baking soda, flour, sugar and salt. Add the cheese and onion and mix with a fork.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir well until evenly moistened. My mixture was in-between the texture of a dough and batter. I was a bit worried first because I know how a muffin mixture should look like. Fingers crossed, I hoped for the best.

Bake in lined muffin cups at 200C degrees for 15 minutes (if you are sticking with Food.com’s recipe) or in my case, I baked them for 30 minutes. If you don’t have muffin paper cups, you can lightly brush the tin with oil or butter. Alternatively if you have baking paper at home, cut squares big enough to line each muffin hole. By the way, just like Yvonne I ended up with 5 muffins instead of 6.

The mixture texture was somewhere between that of a dough's and a batter's.

Let them cool a bit on a rack.

The muffins turned out well actually. They were really savory and has a cake-like texture and moist too.

I am happy with the muffins! Will definitely be making these again for brunch, afternoon tea, or even as something to serve with a Portuguese-style barbecue chicken. Hmm…now that’s an idea. 🙂

This entry was published on February 20, 2012 at 8:53 pm. It’s filed under baking, food, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Jalapeno Cheese Muffins

  1. Very tasty looking.

    • Razel Rull-Navarro on said:

      Thanks. They were tasty really. A workmate who had one actually said it was the best muffin ever…spot on with the peppers 🙂

  2. they look great! i’m glad it turned out well. 🙂 i will add more sour cream the next time i make them. and sorry about your eye…..all worth it though, right?

  3. Cheese and jalapenos are two of my favorite things. And oddly, I happen to have all of these ingredients in my kitchen at the moment. It’s a sign. A VERY DELICIOUS sign…

    • Razel Rull-Navarro on said:

      Excellent! You will love these muffins for sure 🙂

      • I made them last night. My boyfriend said, “These are seriously bomb! They f*cking melt in your mouth!” I had to agree. Thanks again for sharing the awesome recipe!

      • Razel Rull-Navarro on said:

        Excellent! Glad you and your boyfriend liked them. 😀 Have to say, you did a pretty good job making them.

Leave a Reply

