A Berry Choc-full of Love

It’s that time of the year again … when the town is painted with the color red and the shops are filled with heart-shaped stuff and chocolates are selling like hot cakes. It’s the love month. I was given a challenge by a friend before to make a rainbow cake, which I did. He then gave me another recipe to try, this time for Valentine’s since it is strawberry shortcake with little heart-shaped fresh strawberries in the center of the little cakes. But I am not doing it yet. Instead, I made some of my traditional Valentine’s treat – Sweetheart Scones. Well, I thought I’d make the scones as pre-Valentine’s Day treat and the shortcake as post-Valentine’s Day treat. It’s the love month so, why not be generous and make them both and indulge.

I wish I could give credit or acknowledge where this recipe came from. Truth is I tore this from a (free) supermarket magazine page, which I don’t remember now which one and made them the first time almost 5 years ago now. I loved it and copied the recipe into my recipe book, the one I was thinking I would be handing down to my future daughter-in-law so she can bake these for my son. πŸ™‚ Anyway, this recipe yields 12 heart-shaped scones.

Ingredients:

Choose as much as possible the reddest strawberries you can get.

Roughly chop the strawberries.

Method:

Pre-heat oven to hot 200C degrees.

Combine and sift all dry ingredients in a big bowl.

Grate frozen butter.

Add grated butter into dry ingredients. Mix them with your hands until flour mixture resembles dry crumbs.

Beat egg and sour cream until just combined.

Stir in strawberries and chocolate chips.

Mix dry and wet mixture together until you form a dough.

Turn dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead gently.

Pat dough into a circle about 3/4" thick and cut as desired.

Place scones on an ungreased baking tray.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until scones are golden.

Sprinkle with sugar and serve warm with a whole lotta love πŸ˜€

Happy Heart’s Day!

This entry was published on February 12, 2012 at 6:48 pm. It’s filed under baking, cooking, food, recipes, Sweet treats, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “A Berry Choc-full of Love

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Heart Shortcake Cupcakes « Food Safari

  2. Another one I’ve got to try!

    I’m so glad I’ve found your blog; you’ve inspired me!

Leave a Reply

