The Flan

So, I baked the rainbow cake with the fluffy meringue frost a couple of days ago. I had all eight egg yolks so what to do with them. Top of my head was the pasta carbonara I tried a few months ago but then I thought, hmmm…. why not make a traditional Filipino dessert, the leche flan.

I bought this book “Filipino Cooking Here and Abroad” a few weeks later after I got married. I have said before that I do not cook much traditional Filipino dishes but my husband loves the cuisine so I got the book so I can learn.  That book is very handy indeed now that we are living overseas.

This is not really the traditional recipe as I have substituted Tahitian lime for the kind of citrus used in the Philippines, the “dayap” (Citrus aurantifolia). And the method of cooking was bain-marie instead of steaming  for about 20 minutes .The traditional way to make Leche Flan is by open-air steaming on either an open cooking fire or stove top. Another thing was I used a 20cm round cake pan instead of the tin normally used, the “llanera”.

You will need the following ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 8 egg yolks (perfect because I used 8 egg whites for the rainbow cake’s meringue frosting)
  • 2 1/2 cups milk, scalded or 1 1/4 cups evaporated milk diluted in 1 1/4 cups water ( I used the evaporated milk.)
  • 1/4 teaspoon finely grated lime or lemon (I would recommend using lime because lime gives a more tart flavor than lemon)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1. Preheat your oven to 160C degrees.

2. Melt 1/2 cup of the sugar in the pan over low heat. Now be very careful and use mitten or tongs to hold the pan. You will have to tip   the pan back and forth to evenly coat the pan with the caramelized sugar and to avoid burning.

Melt 1/2 cup of the sugar in the round cake pan.Tip the pan back and forth to evenly distribute caramelized sugar. Process will take about 3 minutes.

3. Beat egg yolks until well blended. Add the remaining sugar gradually, stirring to mix thoroughly.

Beat egg yolks then add sugar gradually.

4. Pour milk mixture into the egg mixture stirring constantly. Add lime or lemon rind and vanilla. Mix well.

When grating lime, use fast and short strokes and be careful to take only the green part as the white pith is bitter.

Whisk milk and egg mixtures then add grated lime zest and vanilla.

5. Pour mixture in caramel-lined pan. Place it in a larger, shallow baking pan and set in the middle shelf of the oven. Pour enough hot water in the bigger pan to come halfway up the sides of the custard pan. Bake for 1 1/2 – 2 hours or until knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

Place custard pan in a bigger, shallow pan.

6. Cool to room temperature. Chill for several hours before serving.

Let it cool to room temperature. Now I got too excited here and pierced the center with the knife to test if it was done 🙂

7.  To unmould, run a knife around the sides and quickly turn pan over into the serving plate. Pour the caramel sauce on top.

Now that was a beautiful flan!

Pour caramel sauce on top. Wicked!

This entry was published on January 21, 2012 at 2:41 pm. It’s filed under baking, desserts, food, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “The Flan

  1. I love flan! My aunt makes it for the holidays.I grew up with it because my family is Mexican and we would always eat some 🙂 looks delicious!

    • Razel Rull-Navarro on said:

      Thanks! Growing up, it was really a special treat to have some. I thought I’d learn how to make it so I can treat myself anytime I want. 🙂

Leave a Reply

