Griddled Steak with Cooked Tomato Salsa

I have to confess that this wasn’t the meal I was planning to prepare last night. You would think that since I have cooked for years, I would have known the difference between pork and beef by now.  Well, I do actually but for some reason I grabbed the wrong meat off the supermarket shelf the other day. I was thinking of making the Filipino dish pork adobo and what do you know, I have beef meat instead of pork.  There was really not much time to go get some pork so change of meal plan. First thing that came to mind was the griddle pan. Griddled steak it will be then with that tomato and garlic salsa. Except for the red pepper ingredient, I have everything else. But I got capsicum in the fridge so I thought I’ll just use it instead. Different flavours maybe but my excuse was they come from the same plant family so the capsicum should work. To clarify the capsicum and red pepper thing, we call bell pepper capsicum in Australia. The recipe I have is from an Australian cookbook so I am sure the (original) recipe uses red pepper, which in Australia is well,  red pepper, the long ones and not the bell-shaped ones. Anyway …Ingredients

  • 3 tbsp olive oil, plus extra for brushing
  • 4 large tomatoes, peeled* and chopped
  • 1 medium capsicum, deseeded and chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 tbs chopped flat-leaf parsley
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • beef steaks ( Scotch fillet), 200-250g per person
  • salt and pepper
*For tips on how to peel tomatoes, click on this link.

Method

1.   Put the oil, tomatoes, pepper, onion, garlic, parsley, oregano and sugar in a heavy-based saucepan and season to taste with salt and pepper. Bring to the boil, reduce the heat and simmer, uncovered for 15 minutes.2.   Meanwhile, preheat griddle pan over a high heat. Snip any fat around the outsides of the steaks. Season each generously with pepper (no salt) and brush with oil. When the griddle pan is very hot, add the steaks and cook for 1 minute on each side. Reduce the heat to medium and cook according to taste.

3.   Transfer the steaks to serving plates and spoon the sauce over. Serve immediately.

You can serve this with mashed potato or if you are like me who likes kipfler potatoes enough to stock them all the time, roasted kipfler potatoes would be nice with this steaks and salsa dish.

Wash and slice kipfler potatoes in halves, lengthways, toss them in olive oil, season with salt and pepper and sprinkle with chopped herb. For those of you who have been following my cooking for some time now, you probably have guessed it right that I used thyme, my favourite herb. Roast the potatoes for 30 minutes in a preheated oven (180C degrees), or until skin are crispy.So, my missed planned meal paved way to this delightful dish. Simple, quick and tasty steaks with juicy and somewhat savoury tomato salsa.

This entry was published on April 23, 2012 at 11:29 pm. It’s filed under cooking, food, Quick Meals, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Griddled Steak with Cooked Tomato Salsa

  1. Yum. Yum. Yum. & more Yum! ;) hehe.. Really this looks magnificent! Gotta try it soooon :D
    Oh, & I love your photography :)

  2. Pingback: Scotch fillet steak take two | Yummy Lummy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 511 other followers

